QRZ lookup through Applescript

RUMlog, the Next Generation. Completely rewritten.
KI3F
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 31. Dec 2015, 23:48

QRZ lookup through Applescript

Unread post by KI3F »

I use Applescript to log QSO's from FLDIGI, but the info that gets logged is limited to what FLDIGI passes. It would be nice to have a script command in RumlogNG do a QRZ lookup and have all of that information populated in the QSO window, and when I hit the log command only overwrite with what FLDIGI passes. Has any consideration been given to this?

Thanks,

Denny - KI3F
User avatar
DL2RUM
Administrator
Posts: 2784
Joined: Mon 27. Aug 2007, 13:36
Location: JO40DF

Re: QRZ lookup through Applescript

Unread post by DL2RUM »

A qrz lookup will be performed after a callsign was entered while the qrz drawer is open. When the option "Use data" is checked, data will be written to the logging fields.
When you use the provided script, the QSO will be saved before qrz can return data, since it is a background process. You have to split the script in two parts and run both from Fldigi one after the other. Now you will have full control, which data have priority.

Just to perform a logbook and a qrz lookup, the script could look like this:

Code: Select all

tell application "RUMlogNG"
	clearFields
	if fldigiModemName = "BPSK31" then
		set mode to "PSK31"
	else if fldigiModemName = "BPSK63" then
		set mode to "PSK63"
	else if fldigiModemName = "BPSK63" then
		set mode to "PSK63"
	else if fldigiModemName = "BPSK125" then
		set mode to "PSK125"
	else if fldigiModemName = "BPSK500" then
		set mode to "PSK500"
	else if fldigiModemName = "BPSK1000" then
		set mode to "PSK1000"
	else
		set mode to fldigiModemName
	end if
	set frequency to qsoFrequency
	set callsign to qsoCallsign
end tell
73 and best dx de Tom, DL2RUM
KI3F
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 31. Dec 2015, 23:48

Re: QRZ lookup through Applescript

Unread post by KI3F »

Thanks very much, running the script in 2 parts is actually what I want to do, one script for lookup and one script for logging. I'm not sure how to open the "qrz drawer" and where the "Use data" option is located so I can check it.
KI3F
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 31. Dec 2015, 23:48

Re: QRZ lookup through Applescript

Unread post by KI3F »

I found the little triangle and the option on the drawer. I'm all set, it works exactly as I would like. Thanks very much
Post Reply