N1MM compatible and waterfall bandmap

RUMlog, the Next Generation. Completely rewritten.
n2iw

N1MM compatible and waterfall bandmap

Unread post by n2iw »

I have been using RumLog(NG) for many years and love it! Recently I got an SDRPlay to go with my TS-590SG. I like the waterfall bandmap written by N2IC, and was able to make it work with RumLogNG, with Parallels Desktop in "no desktop" mode, the bandmap cans run side by side with RumLogNG, that's just awesome!

However, when I change the frequency on my radio, the bandmap only change it's frequency about 1 second, which is not very comfortable. When it connects with N1MM, it follows radio much faster. I guess RumLog does not send out frequency info to UDP port very often? I wonder is there a way to set it as fast as possible? Or give us a setting to set how frequent the info will be sent to UDP? Thanks a lot!

BTW. I wish there was a Mac software can do what waterfall bandmap do!

Ming, N2IW
DL2RUM
Administrator

Re: N1MM compatible and waterfall bandmap

Unread post by DL2RUM »

Please post a screen shot. I don't know the things you are talking about. Others may be interested too.
The N1MM Radio Broadcast is triggered every 5 seconds or when the trx has moved 10 kHz away. I'm not aware of any user scenarios where it is used. I use the radio broadcast just for a tuner and an antenna switch. I could change the frequency difference to just 100 Hz. HW???
73 and best dx de Tom, DL2RUM
n2iw

Unread post by n2iw »

Thanks so much for the quick reply Tom! Information for waterfall bandmap can be found at https://groups.io/g/waterfallbandmap/topics A lot of contesters use it with N1MM logging app. As you can see in the attachment, the waterfall bandmap can display a waterfall from SDR and put spots on it also, so you can see if you can really hear a station in the spot. Also what stations have not been spotted. It's really useful for me as a DXer.
Screen Shot 2020-05-02 at 5.35.55 PM.png