Limited to 13 entries in memeory bank A

Control and memory management software for Icom transceivers
va3ae

Limited to 13 entries in memeory bank A

Unread post by va3ae »

Hi Tom, what a great program you have built. As I Unix sysadmin, and a guy who supports Mac users and feeds a Mac Mini rendering cluster, it is great to see you writing ham software for the Mac.

In spite of my Unix heritage, I have been running HRD for several years, and I have a Win32 computer dedicated to a few ham radio programs. I recently upgraded from the FT-857 to the IC-7000 and I wanted to import the lists of frequencies, and the preferences that I have for operation.

Your program is very nice, however I have been having three problems with it that I would like to see if we can sort out.

The first is that sometimes I cannot read from the radio. I am using one of the g4zlp usb interfaces, and a traditional DB9/rs232 civ. rumtrol is very fussy about the polling rate, and I cannot connect 50% of the time. Sometimes I even must reboot. If I go to HRD, I can connect without difficulty, it however of course does no memory management!

The second is that I cannot get the radio to accept more than 13 entries in the memory bank A. I have been trying to understand this but have unfortunately not had success.

The third was trying to create a plist or other file type so that I can programatically rearrange the frequencies and their order without having to first type them into the interface. I have several lists of several hundred frequencies we use for DX and local activities that I have accumulated over the last few years, and I have them in plain text list files that I can manipulate with vi and perl to do the things I want them to.

I tried to use the import strategy that you mentioned to the fellow who wanted to import his repeater guide, but alas, I had no luck, just error messages about the wrong number of fields. I must look at that again.