FT-DX1200

QSO logging software for the Mac

FT-DX1200

Unread postby W8NOR » Mon 10. Nov 2014, 05:05

Any plans to add the FT-DX1200 to your interface? I have tried to use the FT-2000/FT-450 setting but it only works for the first QSO and then nothing changes after that. I have to reboot the transceiver and the software and then it works for another QSO and it freezes again.
W8NOR
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 12. Oct 2014, 23:49

Re: FT-DX1200

Unread postby DL2RUM » Mon 10. Nov 2014, 09:59

The FT-450 setting should work. When it stops working after the first information transfer, make sure the flow control settings are correct. Per default RTS is activated. Check if your trx menu setting matches the RUMlog setting. In RUMlog do not use the options "Set RTS" and "Set DTR".
73 and best dx de Tom, DL2RUM
User avatar
DL2RUM
Administrator
 
Posts: 1908
Joined: Mon 27. Aug 2007, 13:36
Location: JO40DF

Re: FT-DX1200

Unread postby W8NOR » Mon 10. Nov 2014, 14:45

Thank you for the quick response. I found that I need to disable CAT RTS (menu 041) in order to make it work. The SET DTR and RTS are off in RUMlog. I tried both 4800bps and 38400bps successfully. Yaesu manual offers very little help since they want you to buy their CAT interface rather than play with other direct computer interfaces. And when I asked them for help interfacing to a Mac they just replied that the rig only supports Windows. I'm now moving my log to RUMlog from another software that doesn't work with the FT-DX1200. Donation to follow :)

73 W8NOR
W8NOR
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 12. Oct 2014, 23:49

Re: FT-DX1200

Unread postby AE8JG » Fri 15. Jan 2016, 00:01

W8NOR wrote:Thank you for the quick response. I found that I need to disable CAT RTS (menu 041) in order to make it work. The SET DTR and RTS are off in RUMlog. I tried both 4800bps and 38400bps successfully. Yaesu manual offers very little help since they want you to buy their CAT interface rather than play with other direct computer interfaces. And when I asked them for help interfacing to a Mac they just replied that the rig only supports Windows. I'm now moving my log to RUMlog from another software that doesn't work with the FT-DX1200. Donation to follow :)

73 W8NOR


Question: How did you connect your DX1200 to the Mac?

I am considering DX1200 and an SCU-17...

Thx,
Josh,
AE8JG
AE8JG
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 19. Nov 2015, 01:58

Re: FT-DX1200

Unread postby W8NOR » Wed 3. Feb 2016, 00:54

I use a USB-to-RS232 cable instead of the expensive Yaesu CAT interface. It seems to work just fine. I found one online that worked. Have to dig out the information if you need it. Some of the adapters won't work from what I read somewhere. They have the wrong chip. Email me directly (see my QRZ page for email).
W8NOR
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun 12. Oct 2014, 23:49


Return to RUMlog



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests